China’s ‘Hallyu prohibition order’ list leaks: report

China’s “Hallyu prohibition order” list has been leaked online, according to the Chinese media outlet, Sina, on Saturday. “Hallyu prohibition order” is an order that restricts Korean content and the activities of Korean celebrities in China. Sina announced that “53 productions and 42 celebrity names under the effect of Hallyu prohibition order, have been leaked online.”

The list included Korea-China collaboration dramas, such as “Saimdang, Light’s Diary” featuring Lee Young-ae, “Jade Lovers” featuring Lee Jong-suk, “Love Weaves Through A Millennium” with Yoo In-na, “Mr. Right” with Ji Chang-wook and “Graduation Season” with and Krystal.

Sina said that the Chinese broadcasting industry is intentionally restricting Korean content. It further claimed that there is no chance for the drama “Saimdang, Light’s Diary,” to be released in China, and that Ji Chang-wook’s part will be deleted in Hunan TV’s show “Whirl Whirl Girl2.”

It is currently unknown how the list was leaked and the Chinese State Administration of Radio, Film, and Television has not announced any official position.

By Choi Hyung-won (

cr: kpopherald


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s